top of page
  • Writer's picturefromafanpod

Get the Wagon back on Track!




Carson looked awful so far in 2020. And as I wrote earlier this week, from a fan's perspective, I am done babying him. He's in year 5, let's grow up and progress. Carson is very mature, I don't mean he needs to start taking more responsibility because he often does admit "I need to do more" He needs to instead stand up for his team. To the play caller if he doesn't like the plays. To the staff who's giving him advice if there's too much coming from too many directions. To Howie for not protecting him and setting him up for success. It's time for Carson to show why Jalen Hurts shouldn't replace him. Because on this trend he will be replaced by seasons end and not because Jalen is a better quarterback but because unrest will cause Jalen to take the helm of the Wentz Wagon.


Last week the issues were definitely Carson, but the defense cannot give up 30+ points and expect to win. If Howie would have drafted a linebacker instead of Reagor, who I'm glad is here, but a perennial pro-bowl linebacker would have been nicer, this all would be moot because linebacker coverage wouldn't be an issue. Clearly Schwartz hasn't coached these guys up enough and Maclolm is a glaring hole right now. In preseason I talked how K'Von Wallace and Davion Taylor should be together helping to replace Malcolm yet Davion Taylor has hardly seen the field behind a group of linebackers that are absolutely awful. Let's hope for changes quick. Last week they gave up over 200+ yards on 1st downs alone. That's pathetic.


Joe Burrow is coming off a 61 attempt game. I don't remember any rookie doing that since Carson did against the Bengals his rookie season. If Joe Burrow throws the ball that much today there's a strong possibility the Eagles lose this game. I don't think he will though. With Fletcher playing and off the pregame injury report that should get a little bit of a push up the middle that won't allow Joe time to throw 61 times.


The Bengals scare me. In my predictions they scared me when I had the Eagles 2-0 at this point. They're 0-2 and they still scare me. I took the Eagles in this game in preseason because I figured they'd be on a high at home and the Bengals would be 1-1 and Joe couldn't win back to back games. Now, he's fighting for his first NFL win and nothing is more dangerous than a good rookie QB desperately looking for that first win. Now, I hope I'm wrong that he comes out and is flat, but I have a feeling we're going to see a lot of Tyler Boyd connections today. And that scares me, but if Miles is given the ball enough on the Eagles side I have hope the eagles can win this. The strategy should be the same as last week. Up tempo and running. Tire that defensive front out with Miles, then start with Play Action. It's a very simple game plan and if Doug executes this I think he can pull out their first win and the Eagles can begin salvaging this season. Because they could be tied with the Cowboys by the end of today and hopefully they are.


I'm just hoping and praying the Eagles can pull it out. It's going to be all about Miles who is the one that needs to help Wentz rebound. Goedert and Ertz need to be the targets that catch the ball this week even if the throws are off. If JJ Arcega Whiteside can find a way to make a play and boost the confidence of his QB that'd be great too. But don't save the champagne waiting for that to happen. My hope is Miles starts off strong and the field opens for DeSean and Wentz Wagon gets back on track by hitting the streaking Jackson for a 50+ yard touchdown. That may be the only thing that gets his confidence back and gets this Wagon back on track. Not to mention, we know all the fan's have been waiting to see that, so let's make it happen. Eagles win 27-24.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page